Jump to the main content block

【Invitation】 September 22nd "Tang Prize Masters' Forums-Biopharmaceutical Science"

Greetings from the Tang Prize Foundation,

To take on the challenges unique to the 21st century and to ensure the sustainable development of mankind and nature, Dr. Samuel Yin established the Tang Prize in 2012 to recognize individuals or organizations for their great contributions to the fields of sustainable development, biopharmaceutical science, Sinology and the rule of law. The 2020 Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science is jointly awarded to Drs. Charles Dinarello, Marc Feldmann and Tadamitsu Kishimoto, “for the development of cytokine-targeting biological therapies for treatment of inflammatory diseases” that brought a ray of hope to hundreds of thousands of patients debilitated by this degenerative condition.
The Tang Prize FoundationExperimental Biology (EB) and National Cheng Kung University will co-host the 2020 Tang Prize Masters’ Forum on biopharmaceutical science, taking place from 9a.m. to 11:20 am. (GMT+8) Taiwan time, on September 22. This forum features three 2020 laureates speaking on the topic, “Targeting the Hyperactive Immune System, from Autoimmune Disease to Cytokine Storms,” keeping us abreast of the latest development in biomedical science in the age of coronavirus. In addition, 2014 Tang Prize and 2018 Nobel Prize winners Dr. James P. Allison and Dr. Tasuku Honjo will also take part in the discussion, brainstorming with us to spot all the opportunities for the development of biopharmaceutical research that could be opened up because of this health crisis. 

If you are interesed, please sign inhttps://forms.gle/j3ReZzopwCoysSUZ7

vilrtual sdc technology forum 48

Many of the severe cases of COVID-19 result from the excessive reaction of the patients’ immune system, causing "cytokine storms" to wreak havoc in their bodies and lead to multiple organ failures. The world races to find new drugs and vaccines to eradicate the virus, but this may take considerable amount of time. There is an existing subset of drugs (biologics) used to temper inflammatory reactions caused by immune system overdrive. Many of these are undergoing trials related to cytokine storms. How were these drugs discovered, and how can their impact be even greater today? The three laureates of the 2020 Tang Prize will talk about interluekin-1, interleukin-6, and TNF, the three most critical cytokines not only in cytokine storms, but also in autoimmune and autoinflammatory diseases that affect the lives of a large number of people.

Taiwan Time:

Tuesday, September 22, 2020 09:00-11:20


Cheng-Shing Hall, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan



Welcome Remarks

Shu Chien / President, Tang Prize Selection Committee

William B. Coleman / Representative, Experimental Biology

Huey-Jen Su / President, National Cheng Kung University


2020 Laureates’ Presentations


Panel Discussion


Q & A (Questions accepted online)


Closing Remarks

  • Yun Yen

  • Emeritus President and Chair Professor of Taipei Medical University
  • Shaw-Jenq Sean Tsai

  • Chair Professor, Department of Physiology, National Cheng Kung University
  • Former Director General in the Ministry of Science and Technology
Panelists / Past Laureates
  • Charles Dinarello

  • 2020 Tang Prize Laureate in Biopharmaceutical Science
  • Distinguished University Professor of the University of Colorado
  • Marc Feldmann

  • 2020 Tang Prize Laureate in Biopharmaceutical Science
  • Emeritus professor at the University of Oxford
  • Former Head of the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology
  • Tadamitsu Kishimoto

  • 2020 Tang Prize Laureate in Biopharmaceutical Science
  • Former President of Osaka University
  • James P. Allison

  • 2014 Tang Prize and 2018 Nobel Prize Laureate
  • Chair of the Department of Immunology and Executive Director of the Immunotherapy Platform at MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Tasuku Honjo

  • 2014 Tang Prize and 2018 Nobel Prize Laureate
  • Deputy Director-General of the Institute for Advanced Study at Kyoto University
Click Num: